top of page

Forgetting the Flourishing.

30 but after them there will arise seven years of famine, and all the plenty will be forgotten in the land of Egypt. Genesis 41:30


35 And let them gather all the food of these good years that are coming and store up grain under the authority of Pharaoh for food in the cities, and let them keep it. 36 That food shall be a reserve for the land against the seven years of famine that are to occur in the land of Egypt, so that the land may not perish through the famine.” Genesis 41:35


I grew up with a brother and a sister. And during our younger years, especially in middle school, we all loved sugar. We often refer to those times as our "chubby cheek" days. My grandmother would take us to Dairy Queen every Monday when she would pick us up from school and that was the highlight of our week. My parents tried not to keep sugar in the house often so that we would grow strong and healthy. So when there sweets in the house, they went fast! If you didn't grab something as soon as it entered our cabinets, they would be gone so fast. Though the Egyptians' story did not go exactly like this, I was reminded of our sugar story after reading it.


Before this read of Joseph’s story, I had never really taken the time to look intently at his interpretation of pharaoh's dream. Joseph reveals that there will be 7 years of plenty and then 7 years of famine. One of his key instructions to pharaoh was that during those 7 years of prosperity, the people needed to store up food because harder times were coming. He even said that during the 7 years of famine, the people would forget the 7 years of plenty. Do not miss that! Joseph tells the pharaoh that right after having a huge amount of growth and prosperity, you will have a famine and you will forget how good God was during that time. That may not seem like a big deal to you but it is to me. So often, like when we were kids, I want to be quick to consume what I want of think that I need without thinking about any implications that choice will have on the future. I grab the sweet before I can think about the implications it can have on my health (Or in this case, my chubby cheeks). Joseph was warning Pharaoh that harder times were coming and he needed to be thoughtful and consider how his actions would have implications on the future.


Isn’t it funny how forgetful we are and how quick we are to act without thinking? The whole narrative of Scripture, especially the Old Testament speaks to our inability to remember the good things that God has done for us and our quickness to act. And he is so gracious to remind us of his goodness every time. I wonder what would happen if we were better at remembering? What would happen if during the seasons of blessing, we were intentional about journaling ways that God has been good to us so that when hard times come and they will come, we have something to look back on? What would happen if when we were making decisions, we were considerate about the effect that it would have on us?


I can think of many times where I felt like I was flourishing. Friendships were at their sweetest, God was moving right in front of my eyes, and it was such a sweet season. I have also been in seasons of drought. Life was not going how I expected. Time with my people was sparse, finances were hard, and the enemy was attacking fiercer than ever. It was extremely difficult to remember the previous season of prosperity. But one of the sweetest things during that difficult time was going through my journal and rereading what I had written about the time of flourishing. We know that times of famine will come, that is a promise (James 1). What we need to remember is that every season has a purpose and it is our job to trust in the promises of our Father and remember that no matter how out-of-control we feel, God sees us and desires for us to be refined.


17941372804361463.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I hope this has encouraged and challenged you to fall deeper in love with Jesus! Thanks again for taking the time for reading. :) 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page